PDA

View Full Version : Company of Heroes graphics card issues


br&New
October 28th, 2006, 09:16 pm
So i bought and installed the cd-rom version of Company of Heroes
on my pc. But when i try to start the game i get the error message:

" graphics setup "
"Failed to find a supported hardware rendering device. Ensure that your
system meets the minimum requirements for Company of Heroes. Verify
that DirectX is properly installed and that you have the lastest drivers
for your system".

I have installed DirectX 9.0 so now i am thinking i need to update the drivers
on my graphics card or buy one with pixel shader 1.1 but don't know what
kind of graphics card i even have. dilemma...

please help.

RangerRick
October 28th, 2006, 09:22 pm
What's the make &model of the pc? How old is it?

If you know what your specs are, please post them.

br&New
October 28th, 2006, 09:32 pm
pc specs.. hmmm..

its a hp pavilion a1010n...

its about two years old.

RangerRick
October 28th, 2006, 09:49 pm
Here's the motherboard with that pc. You're probably using onboard graphics, and I do not think the game will work very well if at all.
Is the monitor plugged into the motherboard? How much memory do you have? That's important when you're using onboard video.


http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00068983&lc=en&cc=us&lang=en&product=459879&dlc=en

br&New
October 28th, 2006, 09:54 pm
so do u think buying a new graphics card with help?


i think my monitor is connected to my motherboard...?

MasterChief
October 29th, 2006, 02:15 am
I'm not familiar with that motherboard, but it doesn't appear to have any AGP slots. Even the best PCI designed video cards probably aren't good enough to run CoH, which is a pretty graphics-intensive game. In any event you'd probably have other issues running a game like that on a 2 year old HP, nevermind the graphics card.

d4m
October 29th, 2006, 11:20 am
click start, run, enter dxdiag and hit enter

Click Save All Information button. Just save what ever name text file to the desktop.

Open the text file in notepad and if you scroll down a little bit you will see all your PC specs.

Just copy n paste here and people will tell you what ur missing. THe file is HUGE, just copy out the portions of the CPU and the videocard.

example

Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: n/a
System Model: n/a
BIOS: n/a
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 2046MB RAM
Page File: 278MB used, 3664MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: Radeon X1900 Series
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: Radeon X1900 Series (0x7249)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_7249&SUBSYS_0B121002&REV_00
Display Memory: 512.0 MB
Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (75Hz)

Kane
October 30th, 2006, 07:23 am
Card name: Radeon X1900 Series
Hmppphhh.....show off!

d4m
October 30th, 2006, 12:11 pm
heh, I can only show off for a few months before the next better model overshadows it, heh. Though, I really need to get a new processor. System runs great, but would love the Core2, just need some more money, lol.


Honestly, br&new, unless you spent enough money to make you go, 'Jesus, I could have bought an XBox/PS2/etc,' there is a good chance you won't be able to play COH well if at all especially if the link RangerRick posted involving ur PC motherboard is accurate, having no graphic's expansion slots.

When purchasing a PC, especially if you intend to game on it, you got to make sure the motherboard has an dedicated graphics port for a video card, either AGP or PCIe. Its been like this since the mid 90s with the 3dfx Monster 3D with its whopping 4mb of video ram.

The price for some of these graphics cards can easily equal a console system in price and a lot of people can't see spending it, but its not like when say a PS1 goes out of date. When upgrading, I keep everything I've had that can still be used, right back to my ATI Rage 128 and a 1.2GhZ Duron. I just rebuild my old systems as linux boxes and keepem as toys.

If you'd like to truly game on your PC, you may need to pick up a new one. I would avoid anything by HP like the plague from now on. I would recomend Gateways over Dells just because they seem to have less crap loaded in them upon purchase unless you're up to building your own, though if you've never installed a videocard or sat a processor & heatsink, you may just want to stick with a prefab and add a video card to it afterwards.

Also recomend this guide as well. Download and read it. Some parts you might know, others will be give you some great insites into your machine and how to get more out of it.

http://www.tweakguides.com/TGTC.html


Anyone else got some good advice?

Karlsweldt
October 30th, 2006, 01:05 pm
If anyone wishes to know the makeup and specs of their system, there is the best "general" diagnostics program known as "Everest Ultimate Diagnostics" from www.lavalys.com/ . The price is not expensive, for the value of the program.. and you can install to a mini-CD and have a portable version to use with other systems. But the license decrees "one copy, one install" so be nice!
You get a display of all the features of the mobo and hardware, plus OS stats and other info you need. Plus there would be links to driver updates and other needs. Another worthwhile diagnostics program to have would be SySoft Sandra from www.sisoftware.net/ which is more in-depth with diagnostics and features, and of course more expensive.
The trailing of hints/problems should be taken with a bit of mulled spirits, with either program.

Ludy
November 8th, 2006, 02:37 pm
I get the same message, I downloaded latest version of DirectX. I take it since my computer is like 4-5 years old I'm pretty much screwed and can't play this game?

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
System Model: DIM4500
BIOS: BIOS Date: 07/18/02 13:31:28 Ver: 08.00.00
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.00GHz
Memory: 766MB RAM
Page File: 198MB used, 1679MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

Card name: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce4 MX 420
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0172&SUBSYS_015A10DE&REV_A3
Display Memory: 64.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)

Rattlesnake8
November 8th, 2006, 10:47 pm
Ludy, Company of Heroes won't run on any GeForce4 series cards. Your computer is outdated. I just got my new system cause i was running with a GeForce 4 Ti 4400. Anyway, you might consider getting a whole new computer cause your processor is starting to get a bit outdated now too.

You will definatly need more RAM and a more recent video card.

Karlsweldt
November 9th, 2006, 05:16 pm
Your system should be able to play the games reasonably well, if you upgrade the video card to one that is suitable for the graphics. Having only 64 Mb of video (possibly on-board?) is no ticket to good game playing. If your system has an AGP slot then go with at least a 4x/8x nVidia or ATI model that is in the 'recommended' list for the game. You would need at least a 256 Mb video card. If you have a one gig max system memory, the on-board video system is cutting a chunk out for its dedicated use. See if your system can accomodate two gigs.
While a 2 Ghz CPU is 'adequate', your system may be able to tolerate a faster CPU with more cache level.. if it is a Celeron, definitely look for a Northwood model with 512 Kb L2 cache!! There are bargains for them on Ebay.. some NOS offers.
And the age of the BIOS is not that old, but is beyond four years of age.. not exactly in the "with the flow" idea. A BIOS flash is easy to do, and should improve the performance. But also look at the wattage rating for the PSU.. if less than 350 watts, then it may need upgrading also. Many Dell units had a dedicated ATX power plug wiring.. it is NOT compatible with standard ATX setups!!

SaudiVet
December 27th, 2006, 10:36 pm
I appreciate any help with this. I get the same message. Based on what you guys see is there any chance for me to be able to play this on my system? If not, what would I need to go out and get? Again thanks for the help.



Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gateway
System Model: T3302
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3300+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.0GHz
Memory: 574MB RAM
Page File: 395MB used, 814MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

Card name: VIA/S3G UniChrome Pro IGP
Manufacturer: VIA/S3G
Chip type: VIA/S3G UniChrome Pro IGP
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3108&SUBSYS_60011509&REV_01
Display Memory: 64.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (75Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: vtdisp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.0214 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 4/6/2005 20:31:26, 3455104 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: vtmini.sys
Mini VDD Date: 4/6/2005 20:31:36, 173696 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71FE6-7248-11CF-6F76-0B40A0C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x1106
Device ID: 0x3108
SubSys ID: 0x60011509
Revision ID: 0x0001
Revision ID: 0x0001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_B ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D

RangerRick
December 27th, 2006, 11:52 pm
I do not think the game will run with 64mb very well at all even though the box says so, albiet the minimum, and it appears to be onboard video also, which is another story.

If you think about it, the recommended video memory is 256mb, so 64mb is very low.

I suspect the real problem is your video does not support pixel shader 1.1

What type of video slot does the motherboard have? AGP , pci-e?

CrimsonKnight13
December 28th, 2006, 05:55 am
VIA/S3G UniChrome Pro IGP <- that GPU alone won't make anything run well... unless you have an Nvidia GeForce 6000 series or higher or ATI Radeon X800 and higher... you're going to start seeing considerable slow down on anything new and although you can bump down the graphics on many things... that doesn't mean you're running as the developers hoped people to enjoy the game at maximum potential.

SaudiVet
December 28th, 2006, 10:15 pm
Thanks fo the info guys I appreciate your time.

This is the first time I ran into this. The only other games I got into were Age of Empires and Dawn of the modern world. They both ran fine on here. Looks like i need to try to trade in this game somewhere. Thanks

baker_jeff
December 29th, 2006, 12:46 am
Thanks fo the info guys I appreciate your time.

This is the first time I ran into this. The only other games I got into were Age of Empires and Dawn of the modern world. They both ran fine on here. Looks like i need to try to trade in this game somewhere. Thanks

I would trade in your computer. Company of Heroes is well worth playing. :thumbup:

rolks
May 26th, 2007, 05:12 am
i have wierd bug or so, when i run game i dont see mens and some buildings, cars on roads, only light and units icons. what can i do?. without to buy new system or graphic card thank you my system:

OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name ROLKS-AD1C0234D
System Manufacturer VIA Technologies, Inc.
System Model KT600-8237
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 1 AuthenticAMD ~1683 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG, 11.07.2005
SMBIOS Version 2.2



And graphics card:
Name RADEON 9250
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_5960&SUBSYS_1052196D&REV_01\4&1FEB96E4&0&0008
Adapter Type RADEON 9250 AGP (0x5960), ATI Technologies Inc. compatible
Adapter Description RADEON 9250
Adapter RAM 128,00 MB (134 217 728 bytes)
Installed Drivers ati2dvag.dll
Driver Version 6.14.10.6614
INF File oem18.inf (ati2mtag_RV280 section)
Color Planes 1
Color Table Entries 4294967296
Resolution 1440 x 900 x 60 hertz
Bits/Pixel 32
Memory Address 0xD8000000-0xE7FFFFFF
I/O Port 0x0000C000-0x0000CFFF
Memory Address 0xE8030000-0xE803FFFF
IRQ Channel IRQ 16
I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003BB
I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF
Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\ati2mtag.sys (6.14.10.6614, 1,47 MB (1 540 608 bytes), 28.04.2007 15:59)

rolks
May 28th, 2007, 04:57 pm
mhm... maybe its windows xp home issue?
anyone who tried with xp pro waiting you coments

blaha
September 25th, 2007, 10:31 pm
So I'm getting the same problem with this game. Anyone know why mine can't run it? Here are the specs:

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_qfe.070227-2300)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
System Model: Dimension 4500S
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz
Memory: 766MB RAM
Page File: 282MB used, 1588MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode


Card name: RADEON 9250
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: RADEON 9250 (0x5960)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_5960&SUBSYS_20021002&REV_01
Display Memory: n/a
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)

Karlsweldt
September 26th, 2007, 08:52 am
PC games fall into four categories.. the very basic, moderate, good and great.
The basic modes are of less than 256 colors, which have little detail.. and any system of less than 1 Ghz should have no problems with them, even with only 128 Mb of RAM. The moderate modes require better than a 1.5 Ghz processor with no less than 512 Mb of system RAM, and a video card of at least 64 Mb to display up to 16-bit color that is decent, with more than 1500 colors. The good modes require a processor in the range of 2 Ghz, with a minimal 128 Mb, or better, 256 Mb video card plus a minimal 1 Gb of RAM, better with 2 Gb. This should provide a 32-bit full range of colors, but not the prowess to display all the nuances of shadows and fine effects of detail. For the great modes of gaming, you need a system with a processor of at least 2.9 Ghz or faster, having a minimal 1 Mb L2 cache, plus a video card of at least 256 Mb or better, and 2 Gb or more of system memory.
The L2 cache in a processor is important.. it stores instruction sets for programming, and the more cache, the fewer times the processor has to back-track to programming files for instruction sets.
Of course, you will need a monitor that can tolerate fast refresh rates and high resolution to better enjoy a game. Any system with on-board video is no match for a true video device card. With on-board video, the CPU has to do double-duty in all processing of data plus video rendering.. slowing the system to a crawl!
Having an OS that is compatible with the programming also helps.. and ensuring that it is updated with the latest security patches and device updates. The latest DirectX programming is also required for the type of OS.
Always note the minimal requirements on a program's box.. and double those specs, to have any sense of enjoyment from it. Yes, the program will run at those specs.. but not very well.

If you don't know the full specs of your system, there are diagnostics programs available that will display all the features in your system. Everest Ultimate Diagnostics from www.lavalys.com/ is an excellent base program, with a free trial.. but some features are locked out. It is not an expensive program to own. PC Wizard from www.cpuid.com/pcwizard.php is a freeware program, but the programmers would appreciate a donation to continue its status. Then there is SiSoft Sandra, from www.sisoftware.net/ which is very good with details.
While a price of $30.00 USD to $60.00 USD may seem expensive for a program, don't forget all the research and data libraries associated with it for accurate diagnostics. Hey.. one night out at a restaurant will cost more!

One other important aspect to a good setup is to NOT have excessive progamming running in the background that slows all processes. Disable or uninstall any undesired programming for a smoother, faster setup. Keep your IE cache cleared, same with cookies. And do a defrag at least once weekly, to maintain file systems in a contiguous manner. if files are fragmented, it can take longer to read all needed data.

Sorry, long post.. hope it is informative.

petewolf
January 10th, 2008, 05:05 am
I've got the same error problem as reported in the beginning of this thread i.e

"Failed to find a supported hardware rendering device. Ensure that your
system meets the minimum requirements for Company of Heroes. Verify
that DirectX is properly installed and that you have the lastest drivers
for your system

The PC has a ASRock K8Upgrade-VM800 Motherboard with an inbuilt Integrated Unichrome PRO 3D/2D Graphics Controller supporting DirectX 8.1

I've downloaded DirectX 9 but this has made no difference.

If I need a new motherboard I may as well get a new PC but this seems an expensive way to run Company of Heroes. Can anyone advise what can be done?

Karlsweldt
January 11th, 2008, 10:31 am
Not to be repetitive, but an OS may take upwards of 200 megs of memory just to be accessible. Then add some security programming, and other essential programming. Presto, no more memory allocation if you have only 512 Mb of system memory!
A video card doesn't work hard when graphics are in a "slide-show" mode. But when graphics are changing rapidly as in streaming video, then a better-quality video card is needed.
All programming is loaded into memory from the hard drive files or any other source. The memory speed is at least 4x faster than what data can flow, from reading storage files.
The processor also needs more cache memory, to store instruction sets. Or there will be frequent retraces to the stored programming for new instruction sets.
And too, if there is on-board graphics, it has no dedicated memory of its own. Any required memory allocation is taken from the top of the main memory stack.

You will get above-average performance from a system that has a CPU with at least 512 Kb L2 cache running at about 2.3 Ghz, has multi-threading capabilities, and a high FSB speed. You also need a video card that has a high data speed, plus at least a 256 Mb memory allocation of its own. With at least 8 pixel pipelines. System memory should not be less than 1 Gb, 2 Gb is preferred.
Then of course you should "polish" the setup with the latest video drivers, the latest game or programming patches, and have the latest version of DirectX installed.

Posting system specs? Here is a brief report on my "main toy". The **xxxx** entries were altered for privacy. Yes, my system is not the greatest, but I have no problems with any programming. And the OS is rock-solid stable! Would like to find a 2 Gb pair of memory modules to get some extra performance, and also a better video card. But when affordable.
-----------------------------------------------------------
--------[ EVEREST Ultimate Edition 2006 (c) 2003-2006 Lavalys, Inc. ]---------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v3.50.761
Benchmark Module 2.1.169.0
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer P4TWR1
Generator **"Karlsweldt"**
Operating System Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional 5.0.2195 (Win2000 Retail)
Date 2008-01-11
Time 09:11


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Computer Type ACPI Multiprocessor PC
Operating System Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 4
Internet Explorer 6.0.2800.1106 (IE 6.0 SP1)
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name P4TWR1
User Name **"Karlsweldt"**
SMTP E-mail Address **access@denied.com**
Logon Domain P4TWR1
Date / Time 2008-01-11 / 09:11

Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4, 2900 MHz (14 x 207)
Intel Prescott, 1 Mb L2 cache, 800 Mhz FSB with HT.
Motherboard Name Chaintech S848P (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 2 DDR DIMM, Audio, LAN)
Motherboard Chipset Intel Breeds Hill i848P
System Memory 1024 MB (PC3500 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (02/27/04)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)
Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 6600 (256 MB)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce 6600 AGP

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter TriTech TR28602 @ Creative Audigy Platinum (SB0090) Sound Card

Storage:
IDE Controller Intel(R) 82801EB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive ST3120026AS (120 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA-II) (Barracuda 7200.7)
Optical Drive LITE-ON LTR-12101B (12x/10x/32x CD-RW)
Optical Drive TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-M1502 (16x/48x DVD-ROM)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK


FireWire Controller Creative Audigy IEEE1394 Firewire Controller (PHY: TI TSB41AB1/2)
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB1 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 - USB Controller [A-2/A-3]
USB2 Controller Intel 82801EB ICH5 -
--------------------------------------------------------

21Jake21
January 21st, 2008, 01:29 pm
So i bought and installed the cd-rom version of Company of Heroes
on my pc. But when i try to start the game i get the error message:

" graphics setup "
"Failed to find a supported hardware rendering device. Ensure that your
system meets the minimum requirements for Company of Heroes. Verify
that DirectX is properly installed and that you have the lastest drivers
for your system".

I have installed DirectX 9.0 so now i am thinking i need to update the drivers
on my graphics card or buy one with pixel shader 1.1 but don't know what
kind of graphics card i even have. dilemma...

please help.


I Have The Same Problem. Please Help. Here Is Some Information On What I'm Running, My PC Is Like 2 - 3 Years Old. And Its A Custom PC.

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Winfast
System Model: 761GXK8MC
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3000+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.8GHz
Memory: 896MB RAM
Page File: 416MB used, 2453MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
Music Tab: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
Network Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: SiS Mirage Graphics
Manufacturer: SiS
Chip type: SiS 761
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_6330&SUBSYS_0C68105B&REV_03
Display Memory: 128.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)

Rob
January 21st, 2008, 02:20 pm
SiS Mirage Graphics

I am certain that is 100% your problem right there. You definitely need a new video card to run the game. More RAM wouldn't hurt, but once you get rid of the onboard, you should gain the 128 MB back, giving you an even 1 gig of RAM. Two gigs of RAM is ideal, but one should be fine as long as you had a new video card.

You would be looking at the $100 - 200 range for a good card, a 8600 or 8800GT depending on your budget.

21Jake21
January 21st, 2008, 07:02 pm
I am certain that is 100% your problem right there. You definitely need a new video card to run the game. More RAM wouldn't hurt, but once you get rid of the onboard, you should gain the 128 MB back, giving you an even 1 gig of RAM. Two gigs of RAM is ideal, but one should be fine as long as you had a new video card.

You would be looking at the $100 - 200 range for a good card, a 8600 or 8800GT depending on your budget.


So Your Saying I Have To Get Rid Of My on board Video Card And Buy A New One. I Cant Update It And Get It To Work Or Is There No Way?

Rafal Dudek
January 21st, 2008, 07:56 pm
So Your Saying I Have To Get Rid Of My on board Video Card And Buy A New One. I Cant Update It And Get It To Work Or Is There No Way?

Pretty much. OnBoard video cards are not meant for gaming. They're just there to run your day-to-day tasks like playing with Office or surfing the web. Also the onboard video cards dont have shader support which pretty much I think every game since the past 6 years requires or something.

Rob
January 21st, 2008, 10:44 pm
So Your Saying I Have To Get Rid Of My on board Video Card And Buy A New One. I Cant Update It And Get It To Work Or Is There No Way?

I am one of the biggest fans of getting every last drop out of my PC before upgrading and usually try to talk people out of buying unneeded equipment, but this is definitely one of those times you will not be able to get away with playing the game without dropping some money on an upgraded video card. There is nothing you can do for your onboard card.

gizmo12327
January 30th, 2008, 09:58 am
will this work for me
GeForce 6100
256 MB
Integrated RAMDAC

System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 1/30/2008, 08:41:42
Machine name: YOUR-CA38AA8D3F
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_qfe.070227-2300)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gateway
System Model: GT5058
BIOS: )Phoenix - Award WorkstationBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
Memory: 1918MB RAM
Page File: 556MB used, 3254MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
DxDiag Previously: Crashed in system information (stage 4)